Weekly News via Email
   Set as homepage | Add to favorites | Customer Service | Subscribe Now | Place an Ad | Contact Us | Sitemap Thursday, 05.24.2018
News Archive
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
 1  2  3  4  5  6  7
 8  9  10  11  12  13  14
 15  16  17  18  19  20  21
 22  23  24  25  26  27  28
 29  30
Online Extras
Site Services
Around Bend
Outdoor Fun
Travel Info
Shop Local

Members Of

Poll: Today's Live Poll
Email to a friend | Print this | PDF version | Comments (0 posted) 
  Blogger |   del.icio.us |   digg |   newsvine

Apr 27,2007
High Tech Task Force rolls out plan to bolster industry from competition abroad
by Bend Weekly News Sources

WASHINGTON, DC – This week the Senate Republican High Tech Task Force led by Chairman Gordon H. Smith (R-OR) unveiled its agenda for the 110th Congress aimed at advancing America’s technology industry and growing the economy by eliminating barriers to trade and innovation.

“High tech companies are facing fierce competition from abroad,” Smith said.  “Congress needs to clear the path for high tech industries to grow and expand.  The High Tech Task Force will focus on reforming the tax code and streamlining federal regulations so these job creators can thrive here at home.”

Topping the HTTF agenda is improving broadband access for all Americans and helping build an educated high-tech workforce. The agenda also stresses the need to strengthen the economy through a sensible fiscal policy that promotes pro-growth tax and trade policies. 

Established in 1999, HTTF is the leading advocate for the technology sector on Capitol Hill promoting broadband deployment to rural areas, telecom reform, and ensuring that federal regulations and the tax code do not hinder technological growth.   HTTF holds public forums designed to foster enlightened discussion of important technology issues, in addition to member meetings with industry technology leaders.

Current members include Chairman Gordon Smith (OR) and Senators Wayne Allard (CO), Bob Bennett (UT), Richard Burr (NC), Norm Coleman (MN), Susan Collins (ME), John Cornyn (TX), Jim DeMint (SC), John Ensign (NV), Orrin Hatch (UT), Michael Crapo (ID), Kay Bailey Hutchison (TX), John Sununu (NH) and John Thune (SD).  In addition, Senators McCain, Specter, Stevens and Grassley are ex-officio members. 

2435 times read

Related news
Smith takes helm of Senate’s high tech task force by Bend Weekly News Sources posted on Feb 02,2007

Oregon's tech industry adds 1,400 jobs by Bend_Weekly_News_Sources posted on Apr 27,2007

Smith, Wyden set agenda for 110th Congress by Bend_Weekly_News_Sources posted on Jun 08,2007

Oregon AG announces reform to create good-paying jobs, boost economy by Bend_Weekly_News_Sources posted on Feb 26,2009

Did you enjoy this article? Rating: 5.00Rating: 5.00Rating: 5.00Rating: 5.00Rating: 5.00 (total 8 votes)

Market Information
Breaking News
Most Popular
Most Commented
Featured Columnist
Horoscope Guide
Aquarius Aquarius Libra Libra
Aries Aries Pisces Pisces
Cancer Cancer Sagittarius Sagittarius
Capricorn Capricorn Scorpio Scorpio
Gemini Gemini Taurus Taurus
Leo Leo Virgo Virgo
Local Attractions
Bend Visitors & Convention Bureau
Bend Visitors & Convention Bureau

Mt. Bachelor Resort
Mt. Bachelor Resort

Les Schwab Ampitheater
Les Schwab Ampitheater

Deschutes County Fairgrounds
Deschutes County

Tower Theatre
Tower Theatre

The High Desert Museum


Deschutes County

  Web    BendWeekly.com
© 2006 Bend Weekly News
A .Com Endeavors, Inc. Company.
All Rights Reserved. Terms under
which this service is provided to you.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Contact us.
Bend Weekly News & Event Guide Online
   Save the Net
External sites open in new window,
not endorsed by BendWeekly.com
Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Add to Google Add to MSN Add to My AOL
What are RSS headlines?