Feb 02,2008 00:00
The Oregon Department of Human Services (DHS) is making domestic partnership declaration forms available, following Friday’s federal court ruling that allows Oregon's domestic partnership law to go into effect.
Forms may be found on the State web site, and at county clerks' offices throughout the state, said Jennifer Woodward, state registrar in the DHS Public Health Division. County clerk office locations are listed in the white pages of the telephone book under the County Government section.
Forms can also be obtained by mail from the DHS Center for Health Statistics, Attn: Mary Ann Jensen, 800 N.E. Oregon St., Suite 225, Portland, OR 97232; or requested via e-mail.
Completed, signed and notarized forms may be registered at any county clerk's office. Certified copies of declarations filed at the county can be purchased when they are filed, or any time after the declaration is registered. Contact the county clerk's office for fee information, Woodward advised.
Certified vital record copies of declarations filed at the Center for Health Statistics can be purchased by family members, legal representatives, or persons or organizations with a personal or property right. Cost is $20 for a first copy and $15 for each additional copy ordered at the same time.
Woodward advises individuals to allow six weeks after the record is registered with the County Clerk to allow time for the record to be transferred to the Center for Health Statistics and entered into the vital records system.