Check smoke alarms when changing clocks to DST
Mar 07,2008 00:00
Oregon State Fire Marshal Nancy Orr urges residents to check their smoke alarms when changing their clock to Daylight Savings Time (DST) on Sunday, March 9. Many Oregonians have smoke alarms with ten-year batteries so the old saying, 'Change your clock, change your batteries' may not be correct for many households.
Smoke alarm laws in Oregon are different from most other states. Since 1999, law requires all ionization-only smoke alarms sold in the state to have a hush feature; and if an ionization-only smoke alarm is also soley battery operated, it must also come with a 10-year lithium battery.
"Oregonians should first test their smoke alarm battery before automatically replacing it," says Oregon State Fire Marshal Nancy Orr. "Long-life lithium batteries have a life span of up to 10 years and if your alarm has one of these batteries, it may not need replacing every time you change your clock. However, if your smoke alarms are ten years old or older you should replace them entirely," says Orr. "Also remember to test and vacuum your smoke alarm monthly."
Working smoke alarms provide an early warning to a fire, allowing you vital minutes to escape and increasing your chances of surviving a fire. Additional safety tips:
. Install smoke alarms on every level of your home and outside each sleeping area
. Replace smoke alarms 10 years old or older
. Hard-wired alarms should have battery back-ups
. Never disconnect or remove batteries from smoke alarms for other uses
. Make a home escape plan and practice it
For more smoke alarm and fire safety information, contact your local fire department or visit http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/Smoke_Alarms_Home.shtml.