Mar 05,2009 00:00
Oregon State Fire Marshal Randy Simpson urges residents to check their smoke alarms when changing their clock to Daylight Savings Time Sunday, March 8th. Many Oregonians have smoke alarms with ten-year batteries so the old saying, ‘Change your clock, change your batteries' may not be correct for many households.
Smoke alarm laws in Oregon are different from most other states. Since 1999, law requires all ionization-only smoke alarms sold in the state to have a hush feature; and if an ionization-only smoke alarm is also solely battery-operated, it must also come with a 10-year lithium battery.
Working smoke alarms provide an early warning to a fire, allowing you vital minutes to escape and increasing your chances of surviving a fire. Additional safety tips:
• Install smoke alarms on every level of your home and outside each sleeping area
• Replace smoke alarms 10 years old or older
• Hard-wired alarms should have battery back-ups
• Never disconnect or remove batteries from smoke alarms for other uses
• Make a home escape plan and practice it
For more smoke alarm and fire safety information, contact your local fire department or visit the Oregon government web site.