2009 ‘Big Chainring’ awards call for nominations
Mar 05,2009 00:00 by Bend_Weekly_News_Sources

The Deschutes County Bicycle and Pedestrian Committee seeks public nominations for deserving individuals, businesses, and agencies to be recipients of the annual Big Chainring award. Since 1996, the award recognizes those that have made a significant contribution towards:

  • Improving bicycling and walking conditions in Deschutes County

  • Encouraging children or adults to walk and ride their bikes

  • Making Deschutes County communities healthier and happier

The Committee also includes the Peter Hanson Memorial Award for individuals in the community that have provided outstanding voluntary contributions. Peter was a Committee member that lost his battle with cancer in 2005. While only a resident since 2003, his presence was felt (and is still missed) in many volunteer efforts in Central Oregon including:

  • Serving on the Deschutes County Bicycle/Pedestrian Committee

  • Trail building work parties with COTA, USFS, and the BLM

  • Leading Naturalist tours for the USFS

  • Tree planting for Arbor Day and weed pulls, brush clearing and burning at the Metolius Preserve

  • Litter removal/streamside improvements on area rivers

The County Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee discusses nominees during April then selects the winners at its May meeting. Typically, the awards are presented during Commute Options Week, June 15-20, 2009. Nomination forms can be obtained on the Committee’s website at www.co.deschutes.or.us/cdd/bikeandped. Please submit the nomination(s), including a brief description of the nominee’s accomplishments on the official form by Friday, April 3 to:

Cynthia Smidt

Deschutes County Planning

117 NW Lafayette

Bend, OR 97701


Past Big Chainring award winners include:

2008: Kim Curley, Sunriver Police Department Bicycle Patrol

2007: Jeff Sims – “Peter Hanson Memorial Award”, Strictly Organic, Cheryl Howard

2006: Jerry Norquist – “Peter Hanson Memorial Award”, Shevlin Commons (Andy Crosby), Bob Woodward

2005: Jani Sutherland, Eurosports (Brad Boyd), Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Recreation Staff, The Oregon Bicycle Ride - Sandy Green (Chairperson)

2004:  Village Bike Shop, Phil Meglasson (Special Achievement), Sisters Trail Committee, Beth-Ann Wesley, City of Bend Street Crew

2003:  Jeff Monson, Hutch’s Bike Shop, Karen Swirsky (Special Achievement), Bend Police Dept.

2002:  Brooks Resources, County Road Dept., US Forest Service

2001:            Deborah Hogan, Al Dertinger, Bend Public Works, Royal Blend

2000:  Muffy Roy, Steve Jorgensen, Dr. Ted Ford, The Central Oregon Trail Alliance

1999:  Reid Seastrand, Dick Johnson, Bend Parks and Rec. Dept.

1998:  Rick Root, Partnership for Pilot Butte, and The Foot Zone

1997:            Tennant Developments, Mt. Bachelor Inc., City of Bend Planning, Redmond Canyon & Bicycle/Pedestrian Committee

1996:            Sunnyside Sports, St. Charles Medical Center, Dale Allen, John Schubert