Bend City Council Elects New Mayor for Two-Year Term
Jan 05,2007 00:00 by Bend Weekly News Sources

Bruce Abernethy will serve a two-year term as Mayor of Bend following his election at Wednesday night’s City Council annual meeting held at the Tower Theatre. 

Mayor Abernethy replaces Bill Friedman, who has served on the City Council for the past nine and 1/2 years, including holding the office of mayor from 2000-2006.

During the annual meeting, the Honorable Sharon Smith administered the Oath of Office to re-elected Councilors Bill Friedman and Chris Telfer, and to newly-elected Councilor Mark Capell.

Bruce Abernethy is a member of the Economic Development and Finance Council subcommittees, the Co-Chair of the Meth Action Coalition, and Board Chair of the Bend Community Center.  He has also organized and/or helped facilitate numerous community forums on issues including affordable housing, teen pregnancy, positive youth development, alcohol and drug abuse, transportation, child abuse, juvenile delinquency, and healthcare.

Councilor Linda Johnson was selected by city council members to serve as Mayor Pro Tem.