Bicycle Transportation Alliance seeks nominees for 13th annual Alice Awards
Jan 12,2007 00:00 by Bend Weekly News Sources

Nominations due by Jan. 20th; Celebration to be held March 10th, 2007

Who: The Bicycle Transportation Alliance and its 5,000 members and supporters around Oregon and SW Washington

What: Call for nominations for the Alice Awards, which honor great bike advocates, educators, change-agents and activists for their work to make their communities bike-friendly.

Where: Awardees will be honored at the Alice Awards & Auction, at the Oregon Convention Center in Portland.

When: The Deadline for Nominations is January 20th. The celebration is March 10th, 2007. Silent auction 5-7pm; dinner, live auction and awards from 7-9:30 pm.


To nominate, purchase tickets, and for more details, go to Nominees so far this year include: Candi Murray of the Oregon Bicycle Racing Association in Gresham; Jonathan Maus of; Amelia Schaaf of Ashland Community Hospital; Tony Brown and Dan Colley of Kaiser Permanente in Portland; the Bicycle Repair Collective in Portland; Savannah Teller-Brown for her work on the effects of exhaust on bicyclists; Mark Ginsberg, Attorney-at-Law in Portland; Steven Kung of Exchange Cycle Tours; and Catherine Rund of Beaverton.


The Bicycle Transportation Alliance represents Oregon and SW Washington residents, working to open roads and minds to bicycles by educating bicyclists and motorists, working with all levels of government to design and provide safe and enjoyable places to cycle, and encouraging people to use bicycles to get around, to improve their health, and to improve their communities.

Since 1995, the BTA has honored Oregon and SW Washington residents who go above and beyond the call of duty to make their communities bicycle friendly. Individuals, groups, organizations, elected officials, and businesses alike are all eligible. Any person, of great or small deed, is eligible for nomination.

Past winners include: Michael Ronkin of ODOT; Mike and Candi Murray of the Oregon Bicycle Racing Association; Todd Boulanger of Vancouver, WA; Muffy Roy of Bend; the Gerding/Edlen Development Company of Portland; Karl Rohde of Lake Oswego; Alan Scholz of Eugene; American Medical Response; the Mid-Valley Bicycle Club of Corvallis; Eileen Adee of the Bear Creek Greenway Foundation in Medford; Jim Lawrence of the Albany Bike Safety Education program; Representative Jackie Dingfelder of Portland; and many others. Prior winners are all listed on the website.

To nominate your bike hero, go to by January 20th.