OHSU receives $1.2 million from National Football League, NFL Players Association
Jan 29,2007 00:00 by Bend Weekly News Sources
Portland, Oregon - Oregon Health & Science University's nationally recognized steroid and substance abuse prevention programs for teen athletes, ATLAS and ATHENA, have been selected to receive a $1.2 million education grant from the National Football League and the NFL Players Association (NFLPA) through the NFL Youth Football Fund.

“We are thrilled to join with the National Football League's Youth Football Fund and NFL Players Association. Because of this partnership, thousands of young male and female athletes across the United States will be able to achieve their athletic potential without the use of harmful drugs and supplements,” said Linn Goldberg, M.D., principal investigator of ATLAS, director of the OHSU Center for Health Promotion Research, and professor and head of the Division of Health Promotion and Sports Medicine, OHSU School of Medicine;

The NFL grant is one of a series of improvements to the NFL and NFL Players Association's policy and program on anabolic steroids and related substances. It will be used to disseminate ATLAS and ATHENA to 20,000 high school athletes and 800 coaches in 40 high schools during the 2007-2008 school year.

A total of eight NFL teams - four from the American Football Conference (AFC) and four from the National Football Conference (NFC) - will sponsor five local high schools in their respective markets to create the 40 “NFL Schools” that will teach the ATLAS and ATHENA programs to athletes, coaches and administrators. All athletic teams in each school will participate in the programs. Participating NFL teams and high schools will be announced at a later date.

The ATLAS (Adolescents Training and Learning to Avoid Steroids) and ATHENA (Athletes Targeting Healthy Exercise and Nutrition Alternatives) programs are directed by Goldberg and Diane Elliot, M.D., principal investigator of ATHENA, professor of medicine (health promotion and sports medicine), OHSU School of Medicine.