Castillo honors Oregon schools for closing achievement gap
Feb 02,2007 00:00 by Bend Weekly News Sources

(Salem, Oregon) State Schools Superintendent Susan Castillo this week named the Oregon public schools that have made significant progress in closing the achievement gap. Each school named for the award has demonstrated progress in student achievement in math and reading and showed improvement in student achievement for minority and/or low income students. The schools will be recognized at a banquet on May 11th.  This is the third year that Castillo has recognized schools for the Celebrating Student Success Awards, and each recipient will receive a $2,000 grant.

“These schools prove that students can overcome poverty, cultural differences, and other challenges and succeed,” Castillo said. 
“My goal has been to highlight examples of what is being accomplished in our public schools and send a very important message to all of Oregon about helping all children achieve.  We are recognizing schools from all around the state that serve as an example for how we can close the achievement gap and ensure that every student has success in school.”

The 2007 Celebrating Student Success Award recipients are:

    • Armand Larive Middle School, Hermiston

    • Howard Elementary School, Medford

    • Prairie Mountain School (K-8), Eugene

    • Keizer Elementary, Keizer

    • Metzger Elementary, Tigard

    • Gilbert Heights Elementary, Portland

    • PPS school to be announced at a later date

The 2007 Celebrating Student Success finalists are:

    • Chenowith Elementary, The Dalles

    • Springfield Middle School, Springfield

    • Talmadge Middle School, Independence

    • Vose Elementary, Beaverton

    • W.L. Henry Elementary, Hillsboro

    • Cherry Park Elementary, Portland

This year, Aloha-Huber Elementary (Beaverton) and Forest Grove High School (Forest Grove) are recognized as Continuing Success Schools for their continued progress in student achievement. 

All recipients, finalists and Continuing Success Schools will be recognized at the Celebrating Student Success Award Banquet, to be held on May 11, 2007 at the Oregon Convention Center. Educational Credit Management Corporation (ECMC) is the title sponsor for the banquet.  The event follows the fourth annual “Closing the Achievement Gap” professional development conference.  Each recipient school has been invited to present at the conference.  For more information on the conference and banquet, please visit the Oregon Department of Education web site.