Bend man appointed to search, rescue task force
Feb 02,2007 00:00 by Bend Weekly News Sources

Kevin Keillor of Bend and corporate counsel of Edge Wireless will examine state statutes, rules and procedures to ensure adequate coordination and communication between federal, state and local authorities

Governor Ted Kulongoski recently named sixteen members to a taskforce that he created by Executive Order earlier this month, who are charged with reviewing how to improve coordination of communication and resources between federal, state and local authorities in search and rescue (SAR) operations.
Governor Ted Kulongoski recently named Kevin Keillor of Bend to the state’s search and rescue task force. 
“The taskforce members come from diverse backgrounds with a wide range of expertise to help make recommendations as to how we can continue to improve search and rescue efforts in Oregon,” said Governor Kulongoski. “I appreciate their commitment to going forward in this process with careful consideration and constructive dialogue.”
The members appointed Wednesday were:
*    Senator Betsy Johnson (D- Scappoose).

Representative Ron Maurer (R-Grants Pass).
Ken Murphy, Oregon Office of Emergency Management Director.
George Kleinbaum, Oregon Office of Emergency Management Search and Rescue Coordinator.
Lindsay Ball, Oregon Department of Administrative Services Director
Captain Travis Hampton, Oregon State Police.  Captain Hampton, the East Region OSP Commander, with over 16 years experience in the State Police including work in all of Oregon’s geographic regions.
*     Colonel Bruce Prunk, Oregon Air National Guard.  Colonel Prunk is Chief of Staff for the Oregon Air National Guard and a former Portland police detective.
*     Tim Evinger, Klamath Falls County Sheriff.  Sheriff Evinger chairs the Search and Rescue Advisory Committee of the Oregon State Sheriffs’ Association and led OSSA’s review of the Kim family search.
*     Detective Michael Weinstein, Portland Police Bureau.  Detective Weinstein has extensive experience investigating missing persons. He was part of the investigative portion of the Kim family search.
*     Dave Rudawitz, Emergency Services Director for the Oregon Wing Civil Air Patrol.  Mr. Rudawitz is an active SAR responder and advisor with over 35 years of experience in Oregon and California.
*     Debbie Henderson-Norton, U.S. Bureau of Land Management Branch Chief.  Ms. Henderson-Norton oversees statewide BLM maintenance for Oregon and Washington and has experience in the Incident Command System and as a public information officer.
*     Jeff Jaqua, U.S. Forest Service District Search and Rescue Coordinator.  Mr. Jaqua is district SAR coordinator for the Zigzag Ranger District of the Mt. Hood National Forest. He is also a member of the Mt. Hood Search and Rescue Council with over 15 years experience in SAR missions.
*     Dave Prouty, President of Pacific Northwest Search and Rescue. 
As president, Mr. Prouty leads a team of 45 certified search volunteers in on-the-ground searches. He has extensive experience with SAR efforts.
*     Kevin Keillor of Bend, Oregon and corporate counsel of Edge Wireless.  Mr. Keillor has experience in assisting law enforcement agencies in emergencies and search efforts, as well as the legal and technical requirements for obtaining electronic records.
*     Ian Yurdin, Member of the General Public.  Mr. Yurdin is the public member of the taskforce. He brings extensive alpine and rock climbing experience to the discussion.
In addition, Senator Joanne Verger (D-Coos Bay) and Representative Debbie Boone (D-Cannon Beach) as co-chairs of the Joint Emergency Preparedness and Ocean Policy Committee will serve as ex-officio members of the taskforce.
The panel, chaired by the Governor’s senior policy advisor for public safety, Joe O’Leary, will meet several times in the coming weeks in order to meet the aggressive timeline set by the Governor. It will submit its finding, conclusions and recommendations for the 2007 Legislative Assembly no later than March 31, 2007. The members are charged to review material concerning Oregon’s SAR policies and statues and after-action reports of specific searches to prepare for their discussions.
Members of the public wishing to submit comments to the taskforce are encouraged to do so in writing to:
Mr. Ken Murphy
Oregon Office of Emergency Management
P.O. Box 14370
Salem, OR 97309-5062