Kulongoski announces executive appointments
Feb 09,2007 00:00 by Bend_Weekly_News_Sources

Appointments are made to the Oregon Cultural Trust, Port of Portland, Teacher Standards and Practices and the Oregon Student Assistance Commission
Salem – Governor Kulongoski today announced the appointments of Nicholas Fish to the Oregon Cultural Trust, Bruce Holte to the Port of Portland , John “Bill” Beck to the Teacher Standards and Practices Commission and Brian Lemos to the Oregon Student Assistance Commission.
“Each nominee has made important contributions in their communities,” said Governor Kulongoski. “Now each will take their experiences and expertise to serve all Oregonians.”
Each appointment is pending Senate Confirmation.  The Senate Rules Committee Schedule can be found at: http://www.leg.state.or.us/07reg/agenda/webagendas.htm


OregonCultural Trust: Nicholas Fish, an attorney from Portland, has been an advocate for restoring arts education in public schools and a community leader in Oregon for nearly a decade. He served as the Director of the Volunteers of America Oregon, a member of the Dean’s Advisory Board for Portland State University’s College of Urban and a commissioner for the Housing Authority of Portland. 
Portof Portland:  Bruce Holte, of Canby, has worked as a Longshoreman for the Port of Portland for nearly 19 years. He also serves as a Canby Planning Commissioner and has served two terms as President of the International Longshore and Warehouse Union, Local 8.
Teacher Standards and Practices Commission:  John “Bill” Beck of Salem has served as the Confederation of Oregon School Administrators liaison to the Teacher Standards and Practices Commission for eight years. He is a retired teacher and former principal in the Portland Public Schools for more than thirty years (1966-1998).
OregonStudent Assistance Commission:  Brian Lemos, of Powell Butte, is a graduate of Southern Oregon University and Portland State University. He is an advocate for student financial aid and has worked as Principal and Vice Principal for the Crook County School District.