Bend-La Pine Schools seeks four board members
Feb 16,2007 00:00 by Bend_Weekly_News_Sources

Three seats on La Pine Attendance Area Local Committee also up

Voters will decide who will fill four of the seven Bend-La Pine Schools Board seats during the upcoming May 15 election.

The seats on the May ballot will include:

Zone 2: covering the northeastern portion of Bend. Janelle Wilcox currently holds this position. This two-year term will complete the remainder of a four-year term vacated by Brian Gatley last year. This term expires in June 2009.
Zone 3: covering the southern portion of Bend. Nathan Hovekamp currently holds this position.
Zone 5: covering the eastern portion of Bend. This position is currently held by Scott Reynolds.
Zone 6: an at-large seat, covering the district. This seat is currently held by Bill A. Smith.

Potential candidates must be residents of the zones and have lived in the district for at least one year prior to the election. Candidates must also be qualified voters and cannot be school district employees when sworn in.

Additionally, three seats will be up for election for the La Pine Attendance Area Local Committee.

Interested candidates are encouraged to contact the Deschutes County Clerks office for filing information. The deadline to file for the May election is March 15.