Bend-La Pine School Board Elects New Member
Sep 08,2006 00:00 by Bend Weekly News Sources

With a 4-2 vote, the Bend-La Pine School Board elected Janelle Wilcox to be their seventh member on Wednesday afternoon. Wilcox fills the Zone 2 seat that was vacated by Brian Gatley this spring.

“All of the candidates were excellent.  It was a difficult decision but I am very pleased with the board decision to elect Janelle,” said School Board Chair Scott Reynolds.  

Wilcox has lived in Bend for nearly 20 years and has four children attending schools in the Bend-La Pine School District.

“I am very excited to be a new member of the Bend-La Pine School Board. I look forward to getting even more involved in our great schools and our community,” said Wilcox.

Wilcox will be formally sworn-in to her new position during the September 12 Board meeting. The term for this interim position expires June 30, 2007.

Wilcox will join current Board members Nori Juba, Carolyn Platt, Scott Reynolds, Nathan Hovekamp, Bill Smith and Tom Wilson.